Getting started with MicroWorlds!

In our STEM lessons on Monday 22 May and Tuesday 23 May, I abandoned SCRATCH and started using an app called MicroWorlds instead. I am feeling pretty good about using this app and I think that it is going to be very useful for me as it is a bit more complicated than the “drag and drop”concept of SCRATCH but not too difficult either.

It took me little while to get access to this program, so I only had about 30 minutes at the end to have a go. Because of this, I did not get through a whole lot, but I did manage to discover how to make a turtle appear and disappear. While trying to make the turtle disappear, I also discovered how to rotate the turtle to make it face in another direction. I finally discovered how to change the background colour, which was definitely the hardest thing I’d learnt how to do on this program so far.

I used the digital dummies book “Getting started with coding” which taught me how to do many new things (listed above). Because I had only just started using this program and I was just being introduced to the basics, I didn’t really encounter very many challenges. But, I am sure that as I progress through the book, I will be faced with many more challenges.

Next lesson I am hoping to continue on with discovering more about MicroWorlds and how it works. I am really excited to face some new challenges that may require me to think a bit differently about them in order to solve them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *